United States of America - ESTA Information

Instant approvals are no longer available, apply for your ESTA at time of booking your travel.

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) recommends that you apply for ESTA at the time you book your travel.

The United States requires travelers to obtain approval from the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) at least 72 hours prior to check-in for a flight to the U.S. or connecting through the U.S. An ESTA is required even if you are immediately connecting through the U.S. to a third country.

To apply for an ESTA travelers must complete a web based application, this can be found here. While the ESTA application does not take long to complete, approval will take 72 hours. Please ensure you supply a valid email address in your application as you will be sent an application number and link where you can view the status of your application.

You must apply for an ESTA even if you are only transiting the U.S. immediately on your way to another country.

All ESTA applications will encur a $14 (USD) charge which can be paid for with any major credit/debit card. If the applicant does not hold a credit/debit card then a close friend or family members card may be used.

An approved ESTA is;

  • valid for up to two years or until the traveler’s passport expires, whichever comes first;
  • valid for multiple entries into the U.S. or for multiple connections through the U.S.; and
  • not a guarantee of admissibility to the U.S. at a port of entry. ESTA approval only authorizes a traveler to board a carrier for travel to the U.S. under the VWP.

If you are a U.S. resident, or are traveling with a valid U.S. visa, you are not required to obtain ESTA approval. For additional information on ESTA's please click here

Countries currently enrolled in the Visa Waiver Program include:

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brunei
  • Chile
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • United Kingdom